Sunday, August 28, 2011

Foolish Pride by Donna Marie Rogers

Foolish PrideI'm having a hard time reviewing this one. Most novellas have a flowing story line with a clear start and finish. Foolish Pride to me seemed like I picked up a book and started reading some chapters in the middle of it. Being that the description says it's an "extra peek" into the series, that's to be expected I guess. It's hard to judge whether I liked the characters or not because what I read was very emotional and I think I was seeing the characters at their worst. That being said, I tried to think about the bigger picture and what they would be like if I knew their pasts and more about what their relationship had been like.
Danny's character, in this small snip-it, was a real jerk. You see his bad side with the possessive and controlling attitude and temper he shows. My first reaction was that he's an abusive boyfriend. (not physically, but mentally)
Emily didn't do much but cry because she is so in love with him she doesn't know what to do.

Through out the story he does show his remorse for the things he's done and said. He knows the he is the one to blame and makes it up to Emily in the end. I would love to see this story expanded. I think there is so much more to Emily and Danny's story yet to be told.

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

The Zillionaire Vampire Cowboy's Secret Werewolf BabiesWith such a crazy title as, The Zillionaire Vampire Cowboy’s Secret Werewolf Babies, I wasn’t sure how I was supposed to take the book seriously. Well, you aren’t supposed to! The authors actually have a warning in the book letting the reader know it’s a parody and not to be taken too seriously. Once I read that, I decided to just sit back and enjoy. I’m glad I did. I was already laughing before I got through the first paragraph. With character names like Rock Fangsworthy, Buffi Van Pelt, Billy Bob Bobson, and Chastity Feelsgood you just know you’re in for a wild story.
Even with the hilarious names, and the fact each chapter was written by a different author, the story wasn’t all fluff. The entire book flowed well from author to author and never went beyond a level of silliness that made it painful to read. Rock and Buffi’s storyline had depth and even being presented in a comedic way kept me reading to make sure they got their HEA.

If you’re looking for a good story to lighten your mood and make you laugh out loud, then you need to pick up The Zillionaire Vampire Cowboy’s Secret Werewolf Babies! You’ll love the way these characters interact with each other. Who wouldn’t want to be serenaded with KISS’ “I Wanna Rock N Roll All Night” by a drunk, sexy vampire named Rock Fangsworthy?

Theirs was a love that nature never intended. Bigger than Texas. Hotter than Hades. Weirder than…a lot of other things you might have read about up until now.

Self-made zillionaire Rock Fangsworthy is your typical Texas cowboy…well, sort of. Typical in that the only thing this lethally sexy lady-charmer with the hair trigger temper loves more than his horse is his ranch, The Double Fang. Or maybe his boots. Less typical in the fact he's also a four hundred year old vampire with a shocking secret—he can't stand the sight of blood.

Buffi Van Pelt is just your average girl-next-door winery owner…or is she? The spunky single mom to twin boys also happens to be a winsome werewolf with secrets and troubles of her own. The winery that the gutsy good-girl recently inherited from her grandmother is on the verge of ruin. If Buffi can't find a use for the mysteriously tainted wine before time and her pantry's limited supply of red meat runs out, she and her pups will be left homeless, destitute and very, very hungry. Worse yet, her baby-daddy is the same hunky, bad-boy vampire rancher who's out to steal The Best Little Winery in Bloodsuck from under her paws.

Once upon a time their passion flamed hotter'n a summer's night in Dallas with three Cheerleaders and a side of habanero sauce. Tonight, love's lightning might just strike them twice…but only if the wine don't kill them first.

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Paula Kennedy's Angels of the Night: Discovery

Angels Of The Night: DiscoveryAngels of the Night: Discovery is an amazing debut book in the Angels of the Night series. Kennedy draws you in with brilliant characters and the mysterious world of Free Masons and Vampires.  The story was intriguing from the very beginning and at no point became predictable.  Every time I thought I had it figured out, the author would surprise me with a new twist in the story. Even though this book is tagged as a Young Adult, I wouldn’t suggest it for someone under the age of 17. While there are no completed sexual encounters, there are scenes that get pretty steamy and there are emotional aspects to the story that are more suitable to an adult’s perspective. The conversations and interactions between Allison Webber and the sexy vampire twins, Darcy and Thane Wallace, are a key element and bring you into the story making it easy to put yourself into their shoes. Or maybe that was just me wanting to be in Allison’s shoes.

Angels of the Night will appeal to any vampire romance lover no matter if you normally read in the Adult genre or Young Adult genre. This book will stay with you long after the last page and have you waiting anxiously for the next installment in the Angels of the Night series.


Allison Webber is tired of looking over her shoulder. Stalked by shadows her entire life, she embraces the invitation to join a secret society hiding the existence of vampires. Things heat up quickly in this all male cult when she catches the eyes of two sexy vampire twins, Thane and Darcy Wallace. Amid steamy encounters with the identical twins competing for her attention, Allison learns her mission is to aid a select group of vampires, the Angels of the Night, as they hunt and destroy the females of their species. Completely taken with the brothers and her new role, she fails to see that one of the twins has been using her. Allison must delve deep within herself for the courage to save the brother she loves and destroy the one who betrayed her.

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Tessa Dawn's Blood Awakening

Blood Awakening
Tessa Dawn has blown me away with Blood Awakening, the second book in her Blood Curse series. After reading the first book in the series, Blood Destiny, I had already fallen in love with the brothers of Dark Moon Vale. Blood Awakening brings us the story of Marquis Silivasi, the family elder and the most harsh and ruthless of all the brothers. His character was so captivating in the first book I was very anxious to read his story—Tessa Dawn did not disappoint me! Blood Awakening was amazing and, in my opinion, even better than the first book. We really got to see a lot more of the history behind the House of Jadon and House of Jaegar and the emotional struggles they each have faced. There were some scenes that were pretty graphic (rape and infanticide) and difficult to read, but it was really a necessary part of the book to get a true understanding of the viciousness and deeply evil existence of the Jaegar House. There were a few times in the first book I felt “sorry” for the men in the House of Jaegar, but the second book took care of that!

Blood Awakening is a fast paced, highly-addictive addition to the Blood Curse series! This series is a must read for fans of authors like Christine Feehan, Christina Dodd, and Lara Adrian.

Friday, July 8, 2011

Delight in Cruelty by Geatriz

Delight in CrueltyNew author, Geatriz, brings you a vampire romance book that’s uniquely dark and just might have you questioning your morals because you can’t stop reading the wickedness that is Delight in Cruelty. The viscous vampire, Yuzuki, is a character that I’m almost scared to say I loved (not sure what that says about my character).  Her actions in this book are so dark and twisted, yet I found them humorous because she is so lackadaisical about it. You realize there is a lot more to Yuzuki than meets the eye once we delve into her long torturous past. Along with Yuzuki, we meet the sexy immortal, Sole, (never found out what exactly he is) and a down on her luck vampire hunter, Miranda. While their characters are good, they don’t compare to Yuzuki, but they are great supporting roles, showing us more about Yuzuki.
This book is only 170 pages but is well written and ends in such a way that makes you wonder what they are all up to now. We can always hope that the author will continue their stories. This vampire romance is more of a gothic romance with some humor added in than a true “romance”. There is a HEA, but it’s not the typical love-conquers-all ending we’re used to in this genre.

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye

Hearts In DarknessLaura Kaye’s novella Hearts in Darkness simply blew me away! I found this book while researching her website for a review of her paranormal romance, Forever Freed (another fantastic must read!) I saw the cover for Hearts in Darkness and immediately clicked on it because, well, it’s so damn hot, who wouldn’t? I was surprised to see it was a contemporary romance and not paranormal, but after reading the excerpt I was hooked. The novella was a quick read, but it felt like I had read a full length novel because of the emotional connection I felt with the characters. At no point did the story feel rushed like so many novellas can.

Caden is a surprising character, with his tattoos and piercings, you’d expect a tough alpha male type, but his personality and his past make him someone you’d love to snuggle up to and take care of. While we learn a lot about Caden throughout the story and not as much about Makenna, she is still a well-developed character with whom she’s easy to identify. Their time alone in the dark elevator is filled with witty banter, sensual physical romance, and emotionally intimate conversations. The story keeps you intrigued and entertained throughout and disappointed that it’s over at the end.

Hearts in Darkness is a must read for any fan of romance. Think you can’t judge a book by its cover? You’re right, this book is so much better than the cover and that cover is pretty close to perfect! Well, just to be sure, I think I’ll go look at the cover again.  Mmmm, yep, perfect!

Forever Freed by Laura Kaye

Forever FreedLaura Kaye’s Forever Freed is unlike any vampire romance I’ve read to date. With characters that grab you from the start this is a book that will stay with you long after you finish. Lucien Demarco is a vampire, over a century old, with a tortured soul that is crying out for the happiness that he lost so long ago. When Samantha and her very special daughter Ollie come into his life you can feel the hope in Lucien grow as his feelings for these humans, his girls, are written out on the pages. Lucien’s family is filled with interesting characters that I would love to read more about. The family dynamic is so special and the care and support they give to Lucien, Ollie, and Samantha has such a genuine feel you can’t help but love them all.
Forever Freed had me emotionally drawn in from the very beginning. Many times throughout the book the author had my heart racing, my eyes tearing, and my stomach fluttering.  Laura Kaye has been added to my auto-buy list!