Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Tessa Dawn's Blood Awakening

Blood Awakening
Tessa Dawn has blown me away with Blood Awakening, the second book in her Blood Curse series. After reading the first book in the series, Blood Destiny, I had already fallen in love with the brothers of Dark Moon Vale. Blood Awakening brings us the story of Marquis Silivasi, the family elder and the most harsh and ruthless of all the brothers. His character was so captivating in the first book I was very anxious to read his story—Tessa Dawn did not disappoint me! Blood Awakening was amazing and, in my opinion, even better than the first book. We really got to see a lot more of the history behind the House of Jadon and House of Jaegar and the emotional struggles they each have faced. There were some scenes that were pretty graphic (rape and infanticide) and difficult to read, but it was really a necessary part of the book to get a true understanding of the viciousness and deeply evil existence of the Jaegar House. There were a few times in the first book I felt “sorry” for the men in the House of Jaegar, but the second book took care of that!

Blood Awakening is a fast paced, highly-addictive addition to the Blood Curse series! This series is a must read for fans of authors like Christine Feehan, Christina Dodd, and Lara Adrian.

Friday, July 8, 2011

Delight in Cruelty by Geatriz

Delight in CrueltyNew author, Geatriz, brings you a vampire romance book that’s uniquely dark and just might have you questioning your morals because you can’t stop reading the wickedness that is Delight in Cruelty. The viscous vampire, Yuzuki, is a character that I’m almost scared to say I loved (not sure what that says about my character).  Her actions in this book are so dark and twisted, yet I found them humorous because she is so lackadaisical about it. You realize there is a lot more to Yuzuki than meets the eye once we delve into her long torturous past. Along with Yuzuki, we meet the sexy immortal, Sole, (never found out what exactly he is) and a down on her luck vampire hunter, Miranda. While their characters are good, they don’t compare to Yuzuki, but they are great supporting roles, showing us more about Yuzuki.
This book is only 170 pages but is well written and ends in such a way that makes you wonder what they are all up to now. We can always hope that the author will continue their stories. This vampire romance is more of a gothic romance with some humor added in than a true “romance”. There is a HEA, but it’s not the typical love-conquers-all ending we’re used to in this genre.